The Book of Ruth: Chapter One

BookOfRuth

As our lives get busier, we forget the simple things in our Christian lives that nourish our walks with The Lord. Now, I’ve decided to get back on the horse to read my bible more, not necessarily in the context of just reading the bible everyday, I mean in an in depth context.

Typically, whenever I’ve done something like this I always start in the book of James. It’s a great book to begin with, but I wanted to try something new, so I went ahead into the book of Ruth.

The book of Ruth mainly focuses on what God has in store for our love lives and what it takes to find who God truly has for us, like an OTP.

20131108-214937.jpg

Here, I will start with the beginning chapter of Ruth. It begins with a depressing tragedy, how Naomi’s husband and sons, all passed away, which leaves only Naomi and her daughters in law, Ruth and Orpha. She tells her daughters to leave to their “mothers home” (1:8) and find new husbands (1:9), Orpha leaves, but Ruth stays, telling Naomi;

“Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me. “(1:16-17)

ruth-series-cover-page

To me, these simple two verses are a huge impact to me, it reminds me of what our relationship with God should be like. Wherever he goes, we go, whatever he stays, we stay. We are the sheep and he is the shepherd. No matter what, we will always follow him, because he knows exactly what we should do and why. He always has an amazing reason why for everything he lets certain events in our lives happen. Although at the time things may seem hazy, but once you look back and see truly why, you start to think “Oh my gosh, God, you let that happen to me in the past, so that I can fulfill what you want me to do now.” I’ve had a few experiences like that myself, but I’m still anticipating on what God has BIG in store for me and I know that he does also for you.  Let him guide you, because truly only he knows where and what you should do in the future and now.

At the end of chapter 1, Naomi and Ruth go back to Bethlehem when Barley Harvest is beginning, not knowing what God has big in store for them.

Tune in for Chapter 2 on what happens next!

God Bless,

Jackie ❤

Leave a Reply

